ITE Awards

Joyce Yassin, of the Great Lakes District and Michigan ITE Section has received the Rising Star Program Award at the Joint ITE/CITE 2017 Annual Meeting and Exhibit, held July 30–August 2, in Toronto, ON, Canada. The press release is available for viewing here: 2017 ITE Award Press Release – Joyce Yassin

In addition to Joyce, the Macomb County Department of Roads received the Transportation Systems Management and Operations (TSM&O) Council Best Project Achievement Award. The press release is available for viewing here: 2017 ITE Award Press Release -Macomb County Department of Roads

Michigan Section Awards

This is the first year (2017) that awards will be given at the ITE Michigan section. These awards are intended to recognize the transportation accomplishments completed in the State of Michigan and the people who have done the work. In addition, these awards are aligned with ITE’s national awards so that it is easy for applicants to submit the same application for section and district/national level awards with minimal additional effort. ITE Michigan encourages applicants to also submit an application for district/national recognition at:

Here are the awards for 2017:

  • Young Member of the Year Award – This award is designed to recognize members under the age of 35 who have already made an impact on the profession, have demonstrated the ability to lead the next generation, and have implemented innovative techniques to solve transportation problems
  • President’s Award – This award is designed to recognize a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of traffic or transportation engineering.
  • Transportation Achievement Award – This award is designed to recognize excellence in the advancement of transportation to meet human needs, by entities concerned with transportation such as governmental agencies, legislative bodies, consulting firms, industry, and other organizations

To apply, download the awards brochure by clicking here.

All application materials shall be submitted electronically by PDF to by April 1, 2017. Each application shall consist of a single PDF file. If you have questions, please contact the ITE Michigan Awards Committee: Mike Lodes, or

Comments are closed.